THANKS

The following people have made a special contribution to the coming into existence of this thesis:

Jan Hogendijk, Henk Bos, Liesbeth de Wreede, the colleagues of USHA (in particular Rob van Gent, Teije de Jong, and Frank Verbunt), the colleagues of GWAD, Sarka, George Huxtable, Curtis Wilson, Jan Waszink, Ferdinand Verhulst, Noel Swerdlow, Henrik Kragh Sørensen, Arie de Kool, Benno van Dalen, Gerard Alberts, Corine Wepster, Taoufik Bakri, Armin Hütterman, Annette Imhausen, Maarten Bullynck, the library staff of the universities of Utrecht, Göttingen, Cambridge, Edinburgh, Leiden, and of the Scheepvaartmuseum Amsterdam, and Pim.¹

